While managing a PPC campaign a fundamental role is played by the key performance indicators. Paid ads’ performance is tracked by these KPIs. These rely on specific marketing goals and industry benchmarks. So, we can not say how many PPC metrics should be tracked by every trade. The required campaign results cannot be obtained if you do not strategically choose these metrics. In the planning phase of your campaign, objectives should be clearly set by you. Then on the basis of these objectives, the PPC metrics should be chosen by you. By doing this your ROI can be increased and desired campaign results can be ensured. Now I am going to describe the 5 most important PPC metrics you should be tracking.
1. Average click-through rate
CTR = (Clicks/Impressions) * 100
If Clicks = 120
Impressions = 1000
Then CTR = (120/1000) * 100 = 12 %.
It has been found that 3.17 % is the average CTR. This information is given by WordStream research. The lowest CTR has been observed in consumer services. On the other hand, in personal services and dating services, the highest CTR has been observed.
2. Quality score
● CTR – Your account history and average CTR are taken into consideration here.
● Ad relevance – If for a query the ad text and the keywords are relevant or not? This is checked by Google.
● Quality of the landing page – Whether the ad message is matched with the content of the landing page or not? This is ensured by Google. Along with this the user-friendliness and page speed are also calculated by Google.
It is important to know that a 0-10 scale is used for measuring the quality score. The quality score will be called a golden mean if it is 5. A very little amount of money will be required for the AdWords campaign if between 7 and 10 the quality score exists and it will be considered as a good quality score. The landing page quality and ad copy’s quality need to be improved whenever a lower quality score as compared to the good quality score is observed.
The method of measuring the quality score has been updated recently by Google. Now it is possible that in AdWords we can have an insight into the quality score data that is historical and we can successfully track the performance of the campaign. Also, the PPC metric can be understood by marketers very easily.
3. Impression share
4. Average cost per click
5. Conversion rate
A digital marketing metric that is most significant is the conversion rate. This should necessarily be tracked by you. If you have attracted the users to your website then it doesn’t mean that the task is completed. You have to convert those users into the customers who pay money. There are a lot of factors on which these metrics rely. Are the people attracted to the title of your ad? Does the target audience find it relevant and informative to see your ad copy? Are the landing pages giving a user experience that is exceptional and user-friendly?
In different industries, there are different conversions. As an example, sales and conversions are the same for the retailers who are selling items online. Booked appointments are also possible in some other trades. Therefore, it becomes important for you to know the meaning of the conversion. Only then the conversion rate can be calculated by you. It has been found that in AdWords, 3.75 % is the average conversion rate.
If you are interested in getting services like ORM, PPC, SMO then you should take the help of a digital marketing company.